Meet my BHAG: Whole30 Style

I started this blog with such excitement at having found the best of both worlds. I was about to embark on a journey where I would actually be living the city mouse, country mouse life. I started a job in June at a summer camp and retreat center that is near and dear my heart. I work from the office three days a week and from my house 2.5 hours away two days a week. “How perfect!”, I thought. How many people get to live in the woods and do what they love half the week and live in the city with the people and activities they love the rest of the week? I didn’t have to choose either/or. I got the both/and!

Four months into that both/and, and I am still so excited for my new arrangement. It hasn’t come without it’s challenges. It is hard to live in two places at once. It is hard to live at camp with little access to a kitchen and hard to fit my whole housework, family, social, church and volunteer life all in the span of 3.5 days. Transition takes time, and I am adjusting.

One of the hardest things I have been trying to figure out is the food situation. Life on the road leads to food on the road. So. Much. Chick fil a. An embarrassing amount of Sonic. I am not a fast food girl, but so much travel and so much transition has made it quick and convenient, and now we have physical ramifications of that convenience like weight gain because fried chicken. I have trouble sleeping again but am so tired during the day. I have gradually gone down this slippery slope until I have reached my limit. I am fed up with feeling this way.

So. I have a BHAG. A Big Hairy Audacious Goal.

whole30

Tomorrow I will start my second round of Whole30, but I’m going for Whole90. From now until 2017 (excluding Thanksgiving and Christmas), I’m eating mostly* real food. Only vegetables, fruits and meats. Not because I want to lose weight and look super cute at all the holiday parties. Not because I am trying to follow a fad diet. Because I want to feel better. I want to be more conscious of the foods I eat.

(*After the first 30 days, I plan to allow myself a couple of sweets and drinks a week, just to keep this doable.)

Last time I did Whole30, by the end of week 2, I felt like a million bucks. I didn’t even know life could feel that way. I had so much energy, pains I didn’t even realize we pains were gone, my memory was better and I could think straight. Who wouldn’t want to feel that way?

I encourage you to come along for the journey. You can do Whole30 or Whole15 or just keep me accountable and root me on. Because I will be missing Halloween candy and holiday parties and happy hours, which may sound crazy to you. But trust me, feeling better is worth giving up all the Reese’s.

Join me! Here’s what I’m making this week plus a big salad for lunches. There’s a grocery list conveniently located for you below.

Savory Breakfast Casserole: http://paleomg.com/savory-breakfast-casserole/
Roasted Chicken with Potatoes and Rosemary:            http://laughingspatula.com/roasted-lemon-chicken-with-potatoes-and-rosemary/
Mango Chicken with Coconut Cauliflower Rice:   http://www.foodfaithfitness.com/mango-chicken-with-coconut-cauliflower-rice/
Skillet Beef Fajitas: http://ahealthylifeforme.com/paleo-skillet-beef-fajitas/

 

 

Leave a Reply

